Sergei Sobyanin: 95 percent of city residents to get neighbourhood metro stations

February 13, 2018

The city will open new metro stations in several districts throughout 2018, and the first section of the Third Interchange Circuit will also be opened, Sergei Sobyanin wrote on his official Twitter account.


The city built over 20 kilometres of new metro lines with nine stations in 2017. The Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya Line was extended 7.25 kilometres and received the following three new stations: Minskaya, Lomonosovsky Prospekt and Ramenki. And there are plans to launch the line’s Ramenki-Rasskazovka section in 2018. The longer Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya Line will carry people from the Ochakovo, Troparyovo-Nikulino, Solntsevo and Novo-Peredelkino districts.

Last year, the city also built over ten kilometres of the Third Interchange Circuit with five stations, including Delovoi Tsentr, Shelepikha, Khoroshovskaya, CSKA and Petrovsky Park. The new section, to receive its first passengers in 2018, has already been tested with metro trains conducting trial runs.

The Third Interchange Circuit is one of the most ambitious metro construction projects in the world. This 68.2-kilometre metro line will have 31 stations.

The new underground metro line will be located about ten kilometres from the current Circle Line and will link all current and planned radial routes. By the way, city residents voting on the Active Citizen website chose its name.

The metro’s Zamoskvoretskaya Line (green line) was extended 2.9 kilometres to the north, and a new station on the line, Khovrino, has opened. In 2016, the Butyrskaya, Fonvizinskaya and Petrovsko-Razumovskaya stations opened on the Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya Line. This year, the line will receive the Verkhniye Likhobory, Okruzhnaya and Seligerskaya stations.

The metro’s Kozhukhovskaya Line is another ambitious project. The 17-kilometre pink line will feature eight stations, including Nizhegorodskaya Ulitsa, Stakhanovskaya, Okskaya, Yugo-Vostochnaya, Kosino, Ulitsa Dmitriyevskogo, Lukhmanovskaya and Nekrasovka. Six of them will have their own transit hubs. The Kozhukhovskaya Line’s first stage between the Nekrasovka and Kosino stations will be completed in 2018. In 2019, the line’s second stage will be extended to Nizhegorodskaya Ulitsa and will also merge with the Third Interchange Circuit. It will considerably improve the transport situation in the Nizhegorodsky, Ryazansky, Vykhino-Zhulebino, Kosino-Ukhtomsky districts and in the city of Lyubertsy near Moscow.

From 2011 through 2017, the city has built or upgraded 104 kilometres of new metro lines, as well as 60 metro and MCC stations and six train maintenance facilities.

The city is to build 169 kilometres of metro line with 74 stations and nine train maintenance facilities until 2025.


Latest Events

Literary performances and creating fairy tale characters on 13 Novy Arbat

February 1December 6

The Rhythm of My City

August 6November 19
If you continue to use our website, you are agreeing to accept the use of cookies on your device. Cookie files ensure the website’s efficiency and help us provide you with the most interesting and relevant information. Read more about cookie files.
Accept ccokies